Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs

The Bowhay Institute for Legislative Leadership Development is the only leadership training program exclusively for Midwestern legislators. It helps newer legislators become effective leaders, informed decision-makers and astute policy analysts. More than 37 legislators from 11 states and four Canadian provinces gather in Madison for five days in July or August for intensive leadership and professional development training offered by the La Follette School of Public Affairs in partnership with the Council of State Governments Midwest Office.

Through the program, lawmakers explore issues with nationally renowned scholars, professional development experts, and legislative leaders and colleagues from across the region.

Over the years, participants have learned about ways to ease the corrections problems many states face, the energy future of the Midwest and its biofuels, the political and cultural characteristics of the Midwest, and ethics and their practical applications in the legislative workplace.

The institute was started in 1995 by Virginia Thrall, then Director of the Midwestern Office of the Council of State Governments, and Professor Peter Eisinger, then Director of the La Follette Institute. Since then, 767 legislators have participated in BILLD.

Alumni who are Current Wisconsin Legislators

Rep. Joan A. Ballweg, 2007
Rep. Jill Billings, 2012
Rep. David Bowen, 2016
Rep. Mary Czaja, 2013
Sen. Alberta Darling, 1995
Sen. Paul Farrow, 2012
Rep. Gary A. Hebl, 2008
Rep. Evan Goyke, 2015
Rep. La Tonya A. Johnson, 2013
Rep. Andy Jorgensen, 2010
Sen. Neal J. Kedzie, 1997
Rep. Steve Kestell, 2000
Rep. Mike Kuglitsch, 2012
Sen. Mary Lazich, 1999
Rep. Amy Loudenbeck, 2014
Sen. Howard Marklein, 2011
Sen. Mark Miller, 1999
Sen. Terry Moulton, 2005
Rep. Adam Neylon, 2014
Sen. Luther Olsen, 1996
Rep. Jim Ott, 2008
Rep. Sondy Pope, 2003
Sen. Janis Ringhand, 2013
Rep. Keith Ripp, 2010
Rep. Jessie Rodriguez, 2015
Rep. Michael K. Rohrkaste, 2016
Rep. Melissa Sargent, 2014
Sen. Jennifer Shilling, 2001
Rep. Christine Sinicki, 2001
Rep. Amanda Stuck, 2015
Rep. Lisa Subeck, 2016
Sen. Lena C. Taylor, 2007
Sen. Leah Vukmir, 2003
Rep. JoCasta Zamarripa, 2011

Alumni who are Former Wisconsin Legislators

U.S. Sen. Tammy Baldwin, 1996
Mr. Chuck Benedict, 2006
Ms. Penny Bernard Schaber, 2009
Mr. Jason M. Fields, 2005
Mr. Donald Friske, 2002
Ms. Pam Galloway, 2011
Mr. Tom Hebl, 1997
Mr. Mark Honadel, 2004
Mr. Randy Hopper, 2010
Mr. Ann Hraychuck, 2008
Ms. Jean Hundertmark, 2002
Ms. Suzanne Jeskewitz, 1997
Ms. Carol Kelso, 1995
Mr. Pat Kreitlow, 2008
Ms. Terri McCormick, 2002
Mr. Louis J. Molepske, Jr., 2007
Mr. William Murat, 1995
Ms. Ann M. Nischke, 2004
Ms. Sandy Pasch, 2009
Ms. Kitty Rhoades, 2001
Mr. Jon Richards, 2000
Ms. Kelda Helen Roys, 2009
Ms. Donna J. Seidel, 2006
Mr. Jeff Stone, 2000
Ms. Pat Strachota, 2006
Ms. Barbara L. Toles, 2006
Ms. Amy Sue Vruwink, 2003
Ms. Joan Wade, 1999
Ms. Mary Williams, 2005