Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs

The University of Wisconsin–Madison's public affairs writer-in-residence program is sponsored by the La Follette School of Public Affairs, the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, and University Communications, and supported by the University of Wisconsin Foundation.

Writers in residence talk with classes, student journalists and organizations, and university faculty and staff.

Previous writers in residence include:

Spring 2017
Yamiche Alcindor, New York Times
Fall 2016
David Weigel, Washington Post
Spring 2016
Jamelle Bouie, chief political correspondent, Slate
Fall 2015
Andy Katz, writer and host for ESPN
Spring 2014
Robert Leger, opinions editor, Arizona Republic
Fall 2013
Riva Froymovich, Economist
Spring 2013
Carrie Johnson, National Public Radio justice correspondent
Fall 2012
Craig Gilbert, the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel's Washington, D.C., bureau chief and national political reporter
Spring 2012
Juliet Eilperin, Washington Post science and policy reporter
Fall 2011
Jeff Gottlieb, a senior writer at The Los Angeles Times
Spring 2011
Lowell Bergman, a producer and correspondent for the PBS documentary series "Frontline" and the Reva and David Logan Distinguished Professor of Investigative Reporting at the University of California, Berkeley, Graduate School of Journalism
Fall 2010
Manuel Roig-Franzia, Washington Post features writer
Spring 2010
Jeff Zeleny, New York Times
Fall 2009
David T. Barstow, investigative reporter for The New York Times
Spring 2009
Jeanne Cummings, chief lobbying and influence reporter for
Fall 2008
Blake Morrison, deputy enterprise editor at USA TODAY
Spring 2008
Tom Beaumont, chief political correspondent for the Des Moines Register
Fall 2007
Kenneth T. Walsh, the chief White House correspondent for U.S. News & World Report
Spring 2007
Jim VandeHei, executive editor of and former national political writer for the Washington Post
Fall 2006
Walt Bogdanich, investigative reporter and two-time Pulitzer Prize winner, The New York Times
Spring 2006
Alexis Simendinger, White House correspondent for The National Journal
Fall 2005
Ron Elving, Washington editor for National Public Radio
Spring 2005
Lynn Sweet, Washington bureau chief for the Chicago Sun-Times and columnist for The Hill
Fall 2004
Matt Davies, winner of the 2004 Pulitzer Prize in editorial cartooning, Westchester Journal News
Spring 2004
John Diamond, intelligence/national security writer, USA Today
Fall 2003
Ed Fouhy, executive director, Pew Center on the States
Spring 2003
Pete Harkness, editor and publisher, Governing magazine
Fall 2002
Charles Todd, editor-in-chief, The Hotline
Spring 2002
Richard Berke, national political correspondent, New York Times
Fall 2001
Ross Ramsey, editor, Texas Weekly